Tale of The Tonmakham
" Planting "
In early 1910, a goldsmith Chen Kid Yee settled on the banks of the Noi river in a town called Wiset Chaichan, in the province of Ang Thong. He set up a small shop under an old tamarind tree. His shop was known as Guang Nguan Xiang, meaning prosperity and brilliance.
" Growing "
The reputation of Guang Nguan Xiang, for honesty and fairness, spread by word of mouth. Visitors seeing a large tamarind tree standing in the house’s centre started to call the house “Tamarind Tree Gold”. This gave rise to a new name for the business. In 1937, “Tonmakham Goldsmiths” (Tamarind Tree Goldsmiths) was born and was to become well-known for its meticulous crafts of gold, bronze gold, and silver.
" Blooming "
In 1987, a seed from the old tamarind tree was planted in a new location, situated in Bangkok at Soi Nai Lert, Wireless Road. It continued the tradition of worthy craftsmanship, “Baan Tonmakham” (House of the Tamarind Tree) was established with the intention of maintaining the natural beauty of each and every gem. At this time, it also launched its unique designs of woven gold and enamel works. Unlike other traditional over stocked goldsmith shops, Bann Tonmakham was more home-like. It was surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and filled with a hospitable atmosphere that cultivated intimate relationship between the hosts and the visitors.
" Branching out "
Prolific and ever changing, like a great tamarind tree that keeps on growing from generation to generation, Baan Tonmakham has evolved into Tonmakham Galleria. This new young offshoot remains loyal to its deep ancestral roots of signature craftsmanship and trustworthiness. This Tonmakham Galleria is where exceptional works of pride are showcased that date back from the time of Baan Tonmakham at Soi Nai Lert until present day.